Talend vs. Kettle (Pentaho PDI)

Over the last few weeks I’ve received a lot of traffic from Goggle searches comparing Talend and Kettle and also from Vincent McBurney’s ITtoolbox article comparing the two products, so where do I stand?

As ETL tools they take different approaches, Kettle is a meta data driven framework (which is in turn tightly integrated into an even larger BI framework, the Pentaho BI Project), while Talend is at the end of the day a code generator. The code generator nature of Talend does impart certain capabilities such as the ability to easily integrate into other BI platforms (such as JasperSoft and SpagoBI ) and as micro-ETL tool. On the other hand Kettle’s increasing integration into the Pentaho family makes it natural choice for larger BI implementations. So which one would I recommend ? It’s got to be Kettle and the main reason for that choice is the Pentaho PDI community.

My experience so far with the Talend community has not been good. Admittedly I’ve only asked two questions, one looking for more details on a statement regarding ERP and CRM connectors mentioned in a press release and the other a technical query about a new tSQLite connector. Neither were answered. OK I’m a big boy I can handle the rejection and I’m also technically savvy, I can eventually fix most of my own problems. But I’m sure if I posted similar questions on the Pentaho forums I would have received an answer, probably from Matt Casters if he though the general community would not be able to provide the answer.

So will this experience stop me from using Talend? Maybe not, the code generation capability may come in handy as a micro-ETL tool (but I do have other options); however, through an offline conversation with Samatar (an active member of the Kettle community) and Matt Casters I learned of a new XML input step and of a PDI alternative to the Talend tJavaFlex component, the “Modified Java Script Value” step. This allows for the creation of START, TRANSFORM (i.e. for-each-row) and END JavaScript scripts. As Kettle uses the Rhino scripting engine I have access to any Java API (e.g. Palo,S3, Google Spreadsheets) but with the flexibility of JavaScript; brilliant!

Not only that, since my experience with Talend tJavaFlex reintroduced me to the world of Java I though I might as well look into creating my own Kettle plugin and guess what, it looks easy enough. So I’m going to develop my first plugin to be based on the ScriptValueMod step, replacing the Rhino engine with the Java 6 ScriptEngineManager. This will give me access to the latest version of Rhino which supports E4X (will make handling XML must easier) and also opens the possibility of using JavaFX or indeed JRuby as Kettle scripting languages.

UPDATE:

I’ve received a reply to my tSQLite question!

UPDATE: July 2008

This post is now over a year old, Talend as a product and as a community has improved enormously in the last 12 months; so much so, I now use Talend  (Java) in preference to PDI for most of my datasmithing needs.

