Zimki – R.I.P.

Zimki, the London based innovative JavaScript application hosting service is to close down this Christmas Eve. Not surprising really, the announcement last June to stop the proposed open sourcing of the platform and the parent company’s (Canon Europe) decision to order a review on the future direction of Zimki looked ominous at the time. Ah well, at least my experimentation with Zimki has given me a very useful take-away, a real respect for the JavaScript language.

The reasonable notice period gives me plenty of time to find alternative hosting, I’ll more than likely give GAFyD another try; maybe JotSpot wiki will have been added to Google Apps by then allowing me to continue to use a hosted service to handle my online database application needs. If not, I may have to sign up for a bog-standard PHP hosting deal.

One response to “Zimki – R.I.P.

  1. Pingback: Zimki - the spirt lives on … « Gobán Saor